The University of Queensland Homepage
     TeethTalk Dentistry Library News

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Nature - full text now back to 1869

Tuesday, February 19th, 2008

The Library has purchased the Nature journal archives. The full text is now available back to volume 1 issue 1, 1869. The Library also has Science back to 1880 which is also volume 1. The Web of Science database indexes these journals back to 1900.

Journal ranking alternatives to the journal impact factor

Friday, February 8th, 2008

There are two new journal ranking tools freely available on the internet.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank — Data from Scopus (13,200 journals)

Eigenfactor — Data from Thomson (8,000 journals)

The SJR indicator (from SCImago Journal & Country Rank) and the Eigenfactor take the ISI Impact Factor one step further. They incorporated a PageRank algorithm from Google to weight the citing journals. The ISI Impact Factor counts the number of cites to papers in a journal but does not distinguish if the citing paper is published in a prestigious journal or a not so highly ranked journal. The SJR indicator and the Eigenfactor take into account the ranking of the citing journal.

Further reading:
Free journal-ranking tool enters citation market

Impact factors and Scimago JR compared

Eigenfactor: Measuring the value and prestige of scholarly journals

EndNote X1 available Now!

Thursday, December 6th, 2007

Endnote X1 is now available for download from the Library’s website for University of Queensland staff and students. This new version is compatible with Vista. Endnote X1 will allow you to: customise your fonts and author names; create subsets of groups of references within your library; search within your library using the “quick search” feature without going to a new screen; confirm any changes you have made to your references before saving; and if you have an Endnote Web subscription, you can move easily between your Endnote Web and Endnote X1 libraries and transfer references. Find out more about the new features on Endnote X1 by visiting: Endnote X1 New Features.

Scopus

Thursday, September 6th, 2007

Scopus is now available from the UQ Library! Using Scopus researchers cans:

  • Find out who is citing you, and how many citations an article or an author has received.
  • You can also analyse citations for a particular journal issue, volume or year.
  • Use this information to complete grant or other applications quickly and easily.
  • Use the refine results overview to quickly see the main journals, disciplines and authors that publish in your area of interest.
  • Uncover important and relevant articles that you may otherwise miss.
  • Check out the work and citations of other authors.
  • Click on the cited by and reference links to track research trends and make connections. You can do this within or across disciplines you are interested in.
  • Scopus is available from the Library catalogue.

    POSSUM and PEIR

    Monday, February 19th, 2007

    Two new image databases have been linked to our catalogue.

    POSSUM developed by a team of scientists at Murdock Children’s Research Institute will be of assistance in the diagnosis of syndromes. POSSUM contains information on more than 3000 syndromes, including multiple malformation chromosomal and metabolic conditions and skeletal dysplasias - x-rays, diagrams, and histopathology slides. At the moment POSSUM is only available in the Dentistry Library on one workstation. This will change later this year as the database is being re-developed into a web-based resource - Watch this space for more information!!

    PEIR (Pathology Educational Instructional Resource) developed by DR Peter Anderson, Director of Pathology, University of Alabama is an pathology image database for medical education with over 40,000 images. PEIR provides links to many other pathology resources. Explore these by selecting the PEIR icon in the top left of the screen to view some of these.

    New E-books for Dentistry

    Thursday, January 18th, 2007

    Dentistry Library is subscribing to 5 more student texts online. These are available on the Stat Ref database and include: Bell’s orofacial pains; Burket’s oral medicine; Oral pathology; Paediatric dentistry and Pickards manual of operative dentistry. There are many other e-texts available on this database that dentistry staff and students will find useful. You can access the texts by typing the title into the catalogue and following the links or typing the name of the database (Stat Ref) into the catalogue and following the links to the complete list of titles online. Happy Hunting!

    EndNote Web

    Wednesday, December 20th, 2006

    Some of you have already discovered EndNote Web on the Web of Science search results summary page. EndNote Web, launched in December 2006 is a simplified version of EndNote which allows you to store your references on the web. Although you have access to EndNote web as a University of Queensland staff or student, the Library is currently unable to provide support for it. Information about this new version of EndNote and a brief guide to setting up an EndNote Web account is available on the Library website at EndNote Web now available.