The University of Queensland Homepage
     PSE Library News Science and Technology

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Great tool for Materials Engineering

Wednesday, October 28th, 2009

The Global Powder Metallurgy Property Database can be found at http://www.pmdatabase.com/global/about.htm . Registration is free and the list of contributing companies is quite impressive.

Make sure you check it out!

powder metallurgy

Virtual journals in science and technology

Tuesday, August 18th, 2009

virtual.jpg

The Virtual Journals in the Physical Sciences series has been jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society. Each Virtual Journal presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of source journals in the physical sciences. Participating source journals include all journals published by APS and AIP, as well as a significant number of journals from other participating publishers, both on AIP’s Scitation platform and on other platforms. From the user’s perspective, the Virtual Journals look and feel like “real” journals, providing useful features such as tables of contents, freely available abstracts, links to source journal home pages, abstracts, and full-text articles, ability to search the journals, email alerts and RSS feeds. Subscribers to the source journal will be able to seamlessly access the full-text articles, while non-subscribers will have the option to purchase articles for immediate online purchase. Subscribers also have the ability to search across all issues of the Virtual Journals.

Papers from two more scholarly journals, EPL and Physics-Uspekhi are now included in the virtual journals.

Google Update

Thursday, August 13th, 2009

google codeDo you love to code? With Google code search you can search for code. Search for a regular expression, exact string, class and function name or programs written in specific languages.

google 2.0Try out the next generation of Google, same great interface but an exciting new back-end. You can leave comments at, Google’s Web Master Blog.

google imageLooking for pictures of particular objects? Try Google’s similar images search, it searches via visual matching rather than file name.

SciFinder news

Thursday, August 13th, 2009

Are you having trouble getting on to SciFinder?

Are you still using SciFinder Scholar and not SciFinder web?

Access to the web version of SciFinder is working well and all our users should be using SciFinder this way.

The web version does not require any software to be downloaded and may be accessed from home. You only need to register first.

Details on how to register can be found at:
http://www.library.uq.edu.au/database/scifinder.html

Access to SciFinder via Scholar will cease at the end of August.

Database training from your desktop!

Tuesday, August 4th, 2009

Many databases provide a variety of online training tutorials, live interactive sessions and recordings.

  • Web of Science training
  • Web of Science provides multidisciplinary coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

  • Scopus training
  • Scopus is a database of abstracts and citations for scholarly journal articles. It indexes 15,800 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields.

  • SciFinder live training and recordings and How-to-guides
  • Key database for chemistry and related fields from the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS).

  • Reaxys training
  • Reaxys provides access to information on chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Learn more about Reaxys in weekly webinars and how it enhances the exploration of chemical substance information.

Online ‘Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society’

Friday, July 10th, 2009

An online version of the ‘Encyclopedia of global change : environmental change and human society’ is now available. The encyclopedia’s interdisciplinary approach covers a wide-range of general research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.

EndNote for Engineering and Physical Sciences - Library training

Wednesday, July 8th, 2009

EN-tag-sm.thumbnail1.gif

EndNote workshops with an introduction to engineering and physical sciences databases will be held in the Dorothy Hill Physical Sciences and Engineering Library on:

Part 1: Thursday 10 September 2-4pm
Part 2: Thursday 17 September 2–4pm

The EndNote workshops will provide an introduction to engineering and physical sciences databases such as EI Engineering Village, IEEE Xplore and the Web of Science.

You should only book for these EndNote workshops if your research area is engineering or physical sciences. In these workshops you will:

  • Set up an EndNote library and import references from databases such as the Web of Science, EI Engineering Village, MathSciNet, SciFinder or the databases you use.
  • Use EndNote with Word to write papers and create bibliographies.

Bookings can be made online, please let us know if any queries.

Journal Citation Reports

Monday, June 22nd, 2009

jcrhdr1.gif 2008 data is now available on the Journal Citation Reports. The Journal Citation Reports are a major source of citation data on journals in the areas of science and social sciences. You can search the Journal Citation Reports by specific title or by subject category. To access the Journal Citation Reports go to the Library catalogue.

Content and analysis enhancements include:
* 350 titles+ with a Journal Impact Factor for the 1st time
* First ever update to new metrics: Five Year Impact Factors and Eigenfactor™ Metrics (available only in JCR® Web)
* Over 400 new titles in the Science and Social Sciences Editions
* More than 8,000 of the world’s most highly cited, peer-reviewed journals, including over 6,500 in the Science and over 1,900 in the Social Sciences Editions
* Journals from 3,300 publishers in approximately 227 disciplines, from 60 countries
* The largest time-trend analyses ever available

You can also take advantage of new functionality in JCR Web such as:
* Rank-in-Category Tables: Evaluate journals in the context of multiple categories
* Journal self-citations: See how self-citations affect Impact Factor
* Impact Factor boxplots: Visualize Impact Factor by journal category

WolframAlpha

Tuesday, June 9th, 2009

What is WolframAlpha?
WolframAlpha is a data mining engine. It is very useful for finding answers to specific questions (ie. 2+4?) or comparing data sets on particular topics (e.g. boiling point of copper vs boiling point of silver). wolframalpha

How does it work?
WolframAlpha uses natural language recognition, rather than keyword searching (e.g. “what is the boiling point of copper?” instead of “Copper AND boiling point”). Unlike Google which indexes websites, WolframAlpha mines data directly from websites and databases. It displays the data in the way that will best answer the question (e.g. as a table or graph).

When should you use it?
WolframAlpha works best if you are looking for quick statistical, chemical or mathematical information. It does not work well for questions relating to humanities or arts topics.

Find out how to search SciFinder from an expert!

Thursday, May 14th, 2009

sflogo.gif

Dr Barry Dunne is a specialist trainer from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). He will be visiting UQ in late May to run a training session on the new web version of SciFinder. This session is designed for academics and researchers.

Details are:

When: Tuesday 26 May, 1.00pm - 3.00pm
Where: Level 5, Dorothy Hill Physical Sciences & Engineering Library

Afternoon tea will be provided. There is no need to register.

SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more - it is a great and very relevant database.

If you already use SciFinder come to the session and get your search queries answered. Remember Scifinder Scholar will be phased out in the very near future! Only the web version will be available.

If you haven’t used Scifinder come and see what the new web version can do for you.