The University of Queensland Homepage
     Business, Tourism & Economics Blog A blog by your Liaison Librarians

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Informit TVNews alerts

Tuesday, March 25th, 2008

Informit TVNews indexes the majority of TV news stories, current affairs and documentary series broadcast on Australian television. Individual stories may be downloaded to the desktop in a compressed video format.

Part of the Informit Media Databases, this database is available via the Informit Online platform.

From Saturday, 15 March 2008 you can also set up alerts based on search terms within this database. A list of all available video clips based on your search terms will be e-mailed to your selected e-mail address.

To set up an alert follow these steps:

  • type in your search terms
  • run your search
  • click on the Create alert link showing above your search results list
  • follow the instructions on screen
  • Factiva database: LISTEN to an article rather than read it

    Tuesday, March 25th, 2008

    UQ Library provides access to Factiva , a global news and business information service that combines the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing.

    Here are the latest news from the Factiva team:

    “Dow Jones Factiva introduces another time-saving tool to help you keep up with the news that drives your business. With one click, you can now LISTEN to a news article rather than reading it. Now you can catch up on the news while performing other tasks.

    When viewing full articles with fewer than 4,000 words, you will see a ‘Listen to Article’ link at the top. This listen capability is available in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish languages and can be found wherever you are reading full articles, including alerts, search results and newsletters.

    The listen capability utilizes a Flash player and is a Web-based service provided by ReadSpeaker. It translates text-to-speech on the fly, but it is not available in any article that is viewed offline, nor is it presently available via Factiva Mobile.”

    ORBIS - New Library Database

    Friday, October 26th, 2007

    ORBIS is a comprehensive database providing descriptive and financial information about public and private companies from all over the world. UQ Library has access to the top 5 million companies.

    Each company overview has 16 sub sections which include the following:
    • Financial data (financial profile, balance sheet, P&L account)
    • Ownership, merger and stock data
    • News, market research, ratings, company & industry profiles.
    • Main customers & alliances

    For help with this or any of our other databases, contact your liaison librarian. Don’t forget that the library also has a subject guide listing this and other sources of company information such as OSIRIS, Dat Analysis and FinAnalysis.

    Scopus

    Thursday, September 13th, 2007

    Scopus Logo

    Scopus is now available via the library catalogue! This interdisciplinary database contains abstracts and references from over 15 000 journals, making it the largest single database of scientific research literature.

    Using Scopus, researchers can:
    • Find out who is citing you, and how many citations an article or an author has received. You can also analyse citations for a particular journal issue, volume or year.
    • Use this information to complete grant or other applications quickly and easily.
    • Use the refine results overview to quickly see the main journals, disciplines and authors that publish in your area of interest.
    • Uncover important and relevant articles you may otherwise miss.
    • Check out the work and citations of other authors.
    • Click on the cited by and reference links to track research trends and make connections. You can do this within or across disciplines you are interested in.

    20 minute demonstration sessions will be held during Research Week (17-21 September) at the following locations at times:
    Graduate Economics and Business Library - 1 pm - Wednesday 19/09 and Friday 21/09
    Social Sciences and Humanities Library - 12 noon - Tue 18/09, Thu 20/09, Fri 21/09

    All staff and postgraduate students are more than welcome to join us to learn more about this exciting new resource.