The University of Queensland Homepage
     Business, Tourism & Economics Blog A blog by your Liaison Librarians

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

IMF e-Library

Tuesday, September 15th, 2009

IMF e-Library Logo
UQ Library now has access to the IMF e-Library: this subscription provides online access to all IMF publications and statistics.

The statistics are available by going through the library catalogue at http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1002232 and provide online access to:
• Balance of payments statistics
• Direction of trade statistics
• Direction of trade statistics yearbook
• Government finance statistics
• Government finance statistics yearbook
• International financial statistics
• International financial statistics yearbook

The publications are available by going through the library catalogue at http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1002228 and provide online access to books, periodicals, working papers, and country reports.

Either collection can be retrieved by going to the library website, selecting title and entering “IMF e-library”.
We invite you to try out this new subscription and, if you like, provide some feedback via email or by commenting on this Blog.

Bloomberg Extended

Tuesday, July 14th, 2009

The trial of Bloomberg in the Graduate Economics & Business Library has been extended to Friday July 24th. If you have not already had a chance to come and try out this resource and give your feedback, please visit us for a look!

Book your 1-2 hour session on Bloomberg now - visit the Graduate Economics & Business Library in person, or phone us on 334 63553.

Bloomberg Database On Trial!

Monday, June 29th, 2009

The Library recently had a presentation on Bloomberg database and we now have a trial of the Database until Friday 17th July.

The purpose of the trial is to seek feedback so we would encourage students and staff to come and use the database while it is on trial.

Details of trial:

Bloomberg is available on one the IRESS terminals in the Graduate Economics and Business Library. There are booking sheets next to the terminal so you can nominate a time to use the terminal. You will need to ask desk staff to sign you into the terminal.

On Tuesday 30th June we have Emily a Bloomberg trainer on hand who will run 3 one hour sessions on how to use Bloomberg and should be able to answer specific questions.

The sessions are 2pm-3pm
3pm-4pm
4pm-5pm

The training will take place around the terminal so we will need to ensure numbers are spread between sessions so if you could email me if you would like to come to a training session and depending on numbers we may have to divide you into a specific session. Please email Anne Draper A.Draper@library.uq.edu.au if you would like to book a place at the training.

Content Alerts from the Harvard Business Review

Friday, June 5th, 2009

You might have noticed that the interface for the Harvard Business Review at the UQ Library has changed - there are now no tables of contents available, and to find an article you must search by title of the article.

You are able, however, to sign up for Contents Alerts for the Harvard Business Review - every month you’ll get an email listing the articles in the latest issue. The you can log onto the Harvard Business Review at the UQ Library and search for the titles you want to read in full-text.

Go to http://hbr.harvardbusiness.org/ and click “Sign Up for Free Email Updates” at the bottom of the page.

On the next page, under “Step 1: Make Your Selections”, scroll down to Harvard Business Review, and tick the box next to ”
Harvard Business Review”

Under “Step 2: Enter your Profile Information”, fill out your name, year of birth and choose “Educator” from the Job Title box.

Finally, click “I Submit” to confirm your signup. You’ll receive a confirmation email, and your alert will begin from the next issue.

If you’d like any help, or any more information about the Harvard Business Review at UQ Library, please contact your School’s Liaison Librarian

Tourism Australia online student data package - Trial

Tuesday, April 14th, 2009

Tourism Australia
The library has a trial set up to the Tourism Australia Online Student Data Package: Data includes results from the International and National Visitor Surveys and will enable students to research information on visitor demographics and behaviours.

The data is on trial to University of Queensland staff and students until 29th April 2009 - to access it, visit http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1001920.

Please feel free to leave us feedback, as it will only be extended if it proves popular.

Database trial - “Social Theory”

Tuesday, April 14th, 2009

Social Theory banner
Social Theory is a new undertaking to provide comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

For many writers, the project represents the first availability of a major scholarly edition of their collected works.

Extensive licensing allows readers to see both the original works and translations, searchable together in a single database for the first time.

Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, anthropology, religion, and literature, the works of many important thinkers in sociology have remained inaccessible until now.

This database is on trial via the UQ Library site until 6th May Access Here. Please feel free to leave us any feedback you like on this resource.

CE Daily - Carbon & Environment News Resource

Tuesday, March 24th, 2009

Carbon emissions

UQ Library now provides access to Carbon + environment daily - CE daily for short.

This service provides a collection of all the latest news pieces from around Australia on climate change and environmental management. It also includes links to, and explanation of, legislation and government research on the topic, as well as resources from related non-government associations.

CE Daily is an excellent way to keep informed about essential climate change and environment news, particularly its effects on the business sector. This resource has a built-in RSS feed also, so you can be sent daily updates of new content on the site.

See CE Daily on the catalogue for more information - http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1002097. Be sure to note the username and password for full access to all the content on the site.

SourceOECD - new statistical datasets available

Monday, March 23rd, 2009

OECD logo

One of the key new features on the forthcoming new version of SourceOECD, the OECD iLibrary, will be a service providing ready-made tables drawn from our statistical databases. They’re planning to create around 500 tables in around 20 theme-based series covering the most requested statistical variables.
Each table will be presented individually and fully searchable (much like a working paper is currently presented). Users will be presented with a choice of formats for each table: PDF, HTML, and Excel.
Once updated, the previous version(s) of each table will be archived but remain accessible.

The OECD have prepared some samples which are available at http://www.oecd.org/statistics/keytables.
At this time there are 30 tables in five of the many thematic areas they plan on covering. they would appreciate hearing what you as users think about this new service. Are the formats offered what you need? Should there be both a PDF and Excel version? Do the layouts of the tables fit your needs? They are happy to hear your suggestions for variables for which there should be a table.

Please post your comments using the link provided on the beta site http://www.oecd.org/statistics/keytables.

SCOPUS database update

Thursday, May 15th, 2008

Scopus launches the Scopus Affiliation Identifier to easily identify and group an organization with its research output.

The Scopus Affiliation Identifier is the world’s first online tool to automatically identify and match an organization with all of its research output. It automatically runs through all the possible spelling variants of an institution’s name, so users don’t have to. It turns an expensive and laborious task into a simple search.

You can access Scopus from http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1000127 .

To make use of the new feature mentioned above, click on the Affiliation search tab and follow the prompts.

NEW citation analysis database - demonstration

Friday, May 9th, 2008

The UQ Office of Research has purchased access to the bibliometric database – Essential Science Indicators.

This database can be used to benchmark research impact by measuring published output and citation rates. Both researchers and research administrators will find the Indicators of interest. It allows to benchmark individual papers, subject categories or institutions against “international average” or an institution or a group of institutions. Also, it allows to place one’s performance within percentiles of publications in the same subject category. The information available in the ESI can be used in management reports, grant applications or CVs.

The ESI is updated every two months and is available from your desktop. (http://library.uq.edu.au/record=e1001810)

Subject categories include Business, Economics, Social Sciences and more.

Thomson representatives (the publishers of ESI) will be at UQ on Thursday 15th May at 9.30 am to demonstrate Essential Science Indicators. The demonstration will be held in the Library conference room (Duhig building, level 1).

Please come and join us!